The New Years Cup is here

The third edition of the New Year’s Cup will take place from 16-31 December at the JD Dlepu Stadium in Makhanda (Grahamstown), in celebration of the holiday season and the fight against drugs. Several Makhanda teams will be taking part in this year’s New Year’s Cup, namely the Santos, Newseekers, City Pirates, Grahamstown United, Jacaranda Aces, Sakhulutsha, Mighty Chiefs and Maru.

The winners of the tournament will receive a grand prize of R100 000 as well as a full set of new kit, along with their trophy and medals. Second- and third-place teams will receive R50 000 and R25 000 respectively, alongside their medals and full kit, while the fourth place team will receive R20 000 and full kit. Additionally, all 32 final teams will be provided with 10 match and practice balls per team.

The organisers of this year’s event will be aided by a number of sponsors, including Mercedes Benz (Official Sponsor), the South African Football Association (SAFA), La Liga, the Eastern Province Department of Sport, Recreation, Arts and Culture (DSRAC), the South African Defence Force and new sponsor, Coca Cola.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s